Keynote Speech by Prof. Nicholas James Stone from Oxford University

Date:29-06-2015   |   【Print】 【close

Speaker Prof. Nicholas James Stone        Oxford University 

Topic 1: Magnetic Moments – Recent Contributions to Nuclear Structure Understanding 

Time: 3 p.m. July 1th Wednesday 

Venue: Meeting room, on 6th floor,Technology building, IMP


Nuclear magnetic dipole moments are sensitive tests of both single particle and collective aspects of nuclear state wavefunctions. Starting from first principles, this talk will describe recent work in which measurements of the nuclear magnetic dipole moment has caste useful light on: 

  The behavior of nucleons in nuclei – single particles outside closed subshells, 

  The variation of ‘single particle’ ground states in transition between closed subshells, 

  The make-up of ‘collective’ 2+ excitations near subshell closure, 

  Pairing, blocking and nuclear superfluidity in high-K isomers. 


Biographical sketch for Nicholas James Stone 


Born 1938 Portsmouth, England.  


Education and training:  


Undergraduate and Graduate studies, Oxford University, Physics MA 1959, D.Phil 1963.


Postdoctoral research and employment. 


Nuclear Chemist, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory 1963-65 and Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford, Research Physics, 1965-69  

1969 Faculty position, Lecturer Oxford University Professor of Physics (Emeritus 2005) 


Research and professional experience: 


Leader of Oxford Low Temperature Nuclear Orientation (LTNO) group 1965-2005. Developed precision NMR methods of measuring magnetic moments of nuclei oriented at millikelvin temperatures in metallic and crystalline samples produced by many methods including on-line ion implantation.  

Led installation and operation of on-line LTNO facilities at NSF (Daresbury), ISOLDE (CERN) and Studsvik (Sweden). 

Research Fellow at CERN, 1990-91 and 2000-2001 working at the ISOLDE facility. 


Since 2003-Visiting Research Professor, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Department of Physics and Astronomy, working mainly at ORNL developing methods for measurement of g-factors of short lived excited states of nuclei produced as radioactive beams. 


IAEA Vienna and US DoE supported consultant on nuclear moment data ~ 1995 – present.   



Recent publications relevant to competence for proposed research: Nuclear Magnetic Moment and g-factor measurements by several techniques including Recoil-in-Vacuum [ps states], recoil into iron (ns states), On-Line Nuclear Orientation [ground states] and in-source laser resonance (ground states). Parity non-conservation in nuclear states. 


Spin and magnetic moments of 71,73,75Cu: inversion of p3/2 and f5/2 levels in 75Cu, K.T.Flanagan, P.Vingerhoets, M.Avgoulea, J.Billowes, M.Bissell, K.Blaum, P.Cambell, B.Cheal, M.De Rydt, V.N. Fedoseyev, D.H.Forest, Ch. Geppert, J.Kramer, A.Kreiger, U.Koster, M.Kowalska, E.Mane, B.A.Marsh, R.Neugart, G.Neyens, W.Nortershauser, G.Ory, M.Schug, A. Smolkowska, J.R.Stone, N.J.Stone, H.H.Stroke, G.Tungate and D.T.Yordanov,  Physical Review Letters, 103 142501(2009). 


g-factors of first 2+ states of neutron rich Xe, Ba and Ce isotopes: C.Goodin, J.R.Stone, N.J.Stone, A.V.Ramayya, A.V.Daniel, J.H.Hamilton, K.Li, G.M.Ter-Akopian and J.O.Rasmussen, Physical Review C80 014318. (2009). 


Confirmation of parity violation in the -decay of 180mHf: J.R.Stone, G.Goldring, N.J.Stone, N.Severijns, M.Hass, D.Zakoucky, T.Giles, U Koster, I.S.Kraev, S.Lakshmi, M.Lindroos, and F.Wauters,  Physical Review C76 025502, (2007) 


First Nuclear Moment Measurement with Radioactive Beams by the Recoil-in-Vacuum Technique: The g Factor of the 2+1 State in 132Te: N. J. Stone, A. E. Stuchbery, M. Danchev, J. Pavan, C. L. Timlin, C. Baktash, C. Barton, J. Beene, N. Benczer-Koller, C. R. Bingham, J. Dupak, A. Galindo-Uribarri, C. J. Gross, G. Kumbartzki, D. C. Radford, J. R. Stone, and N. V. Zamfir, Phys. Rev. Lett. 94, 192501 (2005) 

First On-Line Beta-NMR on Oriented Nuclei: Magnetic Dipole Moments of the (νp1/2)-11/2- Ground State in 67Ni and (πp3/2)+13/2- Ground State in 69Cu: J.Rikovska, T.Giles, N.J.Stone, K.van Esbroeck, G.White, A.Wohr, M.Veskovic, I.S.Towner, P.F.Mantica, J.I.Prisciandaro, D.J.Morrissey, V.N.Fedoseyev, V.I.Mishin, U.Koster, W.B.Walters, and the NICOLE and ISOLDE Collaborations,  Phys.Rev.Lett. 85, 1392 (2000)  

Magnetic Moments of Odd-A Sb Isotopes to 133Sb: Significant Evidence for Mesonic Exchange Current Contributions and on Core Collective g Factor: N.J.Stone, D.Doran, M.Lindroos, J.Rikovska, M.Veskovic, G.White, D.A.Williams, B.Fogelberg, L.Jacobsson, I.S.Towner, K.Heyde,  Phys.Rev.Lett. 78, 820 (1997)  


Low Temperature Nuclear Orientation 

eds. N.J.Stone and H.Postma, North Holland, Amsterdam, 1986 [1009 pages] – author/co-author of 4 chapters  


Table of  Nuclear Magnetic Dipole and Electric Quadrupole Moments: N.J.Stone, Atomic Data and Nuclear Data Tables 90, 75 (2005) 


Synergistic activities:  

1. Experiments at HRIBF as described in UT Nuclear Physics group Research Reports 2004 – present; 2. Interaction with members of Nuclear physics group of Vanderbilt University in relation to analysis of data to extract excited state g-factors:3. Writing papers and giving research seminars and conference talks on research connected with nuclear magnetism and related topics. 


Collaborators and co-authors in last 48 months: 


J.Beene, Physicist, HRIBF, ORNL, USA 

N.Benczer-Koller, Prof., Rutgers University, NJ , USA 

C.Bingham, Prof., Univ of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA 

C.Freose-Fischer, Comp. Scientist, NIST, Washington USA 

A.Galindo-Uribarri, Physicist, HRIBF, ORNL, USA 

C.Gaulard, Physicist, CNRS, Orsay Laboratory, Paris, France 

J.H.Hamilton, Prof., Vanderbilt Univ, Nashville, TN, USA 

P. Jonsson, Prof. Malmo University, Sweden 

U.Koster, ISOLDE, CERN and Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble 

M.Lindroos, ISOLDE, CERN, now University of Lund, Sweden 

K.Nishimura, Prof., Dept. of Engineering, Toyama Univ, Japan 

T. Ohtsubo, Prof., Dept of Physics, Niigata University, Japan 

S.Ohya, Prof., Dept. of Physics, Niigata University, Japan 

J.O.Rasmussen, Physicist, LBNL, Berkeley, USA 

A.V.Ramayya, Prof., Vanderbilt Univ, Nashville, TN , USA 

D.Sarantites, Prof, George Washington University, St Louis, Mo. 

N.Severijns, Prof, Leuven University, Belgium 

J.R.Stone, Research Prof., Univ. of Maryland and ORNL, USA 

A.E.Stuchbery, Prof., Australian National University, Canberra 

M.Veskovic, Prof., Dept. of Physics, Novi Sad, Serbia 

P.M.Walker, Prof., Physics Dept. Univ. of Surrey, Guildford, UK 

W.B.Walters, Prof., Chemistry Dept. Univ. of Maryland, USA 

D.Zakoucky, Physicist, Czech Res. Inst. Rez, Prague, Czech Rep.