28th International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions Held in Lanzhou, China

Date:07-08-2013   |   【Print】 【close

The 28th International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (XXVIII ICPEAC) was held in Lanzhou on July 24-30, 2013, which is the first time that the conference was held in China. 

Hosted by the Institute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IMP), the conference attracted more than 500 scientists and students from about 40 countries and/or regions. Five plenary lectures and more than 80 oral progress and special reports were arranged, nominated and decided by ICPEAC International General Committee, and more than 600 abstracts were selected as poster presentation. 

Three well distinguished scientists, Prof. Joachim Burgd?rfer, Prof. Hossein Sadeghpour and Prof. Yasunori Yamazaki, presented three tutorial lectures through the support of the IMP Branch of Youth Innovation Promotion Association, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Prof. PAN Jianwei from the University of Sciences and Technology in China presented a public lecture on quantum communication during the conference. 

In addition, the 2013 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize was awarded to Dr. T. Jahnke from the Johann Wolfgang Geothe University of Germany, and the Sheldon Datz Prize for an Outstanding Young Scientist Attending ICPEAC was awarded to Dr. Diogo Almeida from the University of Fribourg of Switzerland. 

ICPEAC, started in 1958, is one of the most important international conferences on atomic and molecular physics, which is scheduled to commence every two years. The topic of the conference covers the recent progresses in photonic, electronic, atomic, ionic, molecular, cluster collisions with matter. IMP started to prepare the conference in 2007 when the ICPEAC International General Committee decided to have the XXVIII ICPEAC held in Lanzhou this year. The next ICPEAC will be held in 22-28 July, 2015 in Toledo, Spain. 



Fig.1 Opening session by Prof. T. Azuma (Image by IMP) 


Fig.2 Welcome address by Prof. Guoqing Xiao (Image by IMP) 


Fig.3 Plenary lecture (Image by IMP) 


Fig.4 Tutorial lecture by Prof. Y. Yamazaki (Image by IMP) 


Fig.5 Public lecture by Prof. Jianwei Pan (Image by IMP) 


Fig.6 Dr. T. Jahnke was awarded IUPAP Young Scientist Prize (Image by IMP) 


Fig.7 XXVIII ICPEAC local organizing team and volunteers (Image by IMP)